Words of Affirmation, one of the 5 love languages, (if you’re into that sort of thing). As the story goes, there a 5 love languages, based upon how the 5 human senses react to certain stimuli. Yeah, that’s right, I just ruined love by making it scientific. However, since love is largely based on emotions, it cannot be predicted or synthesized by science.

Enough Technical Talk

Whew, boy am I glad that’s over. Let’s talk plain for a spell. People say that are 5 love language that speak to the different ways different people react to gestures of “love”. And the nominees are:

  • Gifts
  • Quality Time
  • Words of Affirmation
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

I actually had to look that up. These 5 languages were coined by a man named Gary Chapman in 1995. So, they are relatively new concepts, having only been around 23 years to date, but nonetheless, lets explore them a little as comprehensive concepts of love.


Why would this be on the list? Isn’t it selfish to want things out of a relationship, particularly gifts of some kind? Some of us might think so, but gifts are a legitimate language of love to others. When you purchase something for someone, it means something. This is where we get the phrase, “it’s the thought that counts”. Just the fact that you cared enough to think about them and what they would like speaks volumes of your love for them.

That’s 1 down and 4 to go.

Quality Time

I can relate to this one more than the first. The prioritizing of time, or even just the spending of time, whether intentional or incidental can tell someone you love them. There are people who consider time the most valuable commodity in life; that you would spend your with them, (no matter what it is you’re doing to occupy it), lets them know you love them.

Making progress. we’ll get through them all eventually.

Words of Affirmation

Now we gets down to it. This is the one I wanted to focus on today, (and we might still do that, who knows). But words have powers, the Bible tells us as much. They also have meaning, and those who truly care about words don’t use certain ones lightly. Even if they know it in their heart, some people need to hear the words “I love you”. It’s affirmation for them to hear you verbally say how you feel and what you think.

More than halfway done. Success!

Acts of Service

Actions speak louder than words? To some people, that is 100% the gospel truth. To those who need proof more than words, act of service; acts from the heart can say I love you as much as… well, saying I love you. Does that make these people materialistic and superficial? Not in the least! It is something God innately built into them and it is beautiful in its own way.

One more. One more and we can finally begin the blogging part of this blog post.

Physical Touch

Some people may consider this an actual love language. I’d call it more of a love indicator, at least for me personally. If I’m not 100% sure how I feel about someone, them touching me will say a lot. I’m an introvert, so things like physical touching on the shoulder, arm, back, head, even a handshake set me on edge slightly. So when someone does touch me, my reaction will tell me how I much I love them. For some people, the warm and gentleness of another’s hand means comfort and security; that is the way the love.

There. All done! Props to me.

The Blog Post Part

I just want you to know, I had no intention of talking this much about love languages when I started this post. But moving on, God speaks to us in the ways we will best hear Him. He uses our love language, and not everyone has just one, (perhaps 1 dominant one), but most people have a combination of several. But when it comes to God and when it comes to me, He speaks Words of Affirmation. When I’m feeling alone and confused, maybe even afraid, I call out to my Father, “Tell me again”. And He begins to tell me of His love for me and His promises to never let me go and to keep me from falling.

Your love for God should NEVER be dependent upon what He does for you, but solely in who He is! When you love God for who He is, He will prove His love for you through His words and promises in His Holy Word.


What’s your love language? Is it a combination of 1, 2, maybe even all 5? How does God speak to you and show His love for you?

As always, thanks for reading.

the anonymous novelist

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply